METIS is a collaboration of five European astronomy organisations and co-Investigators:

Other key project personnel are Frank Molster, Leiden University (Project Manager) and Lars Venema, Astron (Project Engineer). The science team supporting the project consists of:

  • Prof. Ewine van Dishoeck (Leiden)
  • Dr. Paul van der Werf (Leiden)
  • Dr. Wolfgang Brandner (MPIA)
  • Prof. Thomas Henning (MPIA)
  • Prof. Pierre-Olivier Lagage (CEA Saclay)
  • Prof. James Hough (Hertfordshire)
  • Dr. Toby Moore (Liverpool John Moores)
  • Prof. Maarten Baes (RU Gent)
  • Prof. Christoffel Waelkens (KU Leuven)
  • Dr. Hermann Böhnhardt (MPS)
  • Dr. Ulli Käufl